The Lady Byng Trophy is awarded annually to “player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly/womenly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability” in the ABHL. While sportsmanship is always highly encouraged, the trophy annually goes to a player with an amazingly low total of penalty minutes.